Contemporary Women’s Health

Building Area: 10,629 s.f.

Date of Completion: Spring 2015

Type: New Construction

Location: Knoxville, TN

Budget: $2,638,888

Challenge: Create a new modern medical office and spa for an OBGYN practice.

Solution: Contemporary Women’s Health approached BMa to design a new medical office building that would reflect their brand as a group of all-women physicians practicing the latest trends in modern obstetrics and gynecology. In collaboration with the physicians and staff, we developed a design that projects a very cleanly detailed modern and minimal exterior of glass, metal, and wood. The building entry is centrally located to act as the front door to both the clinical side of the practice as well as the spa, while still allowing each side its own waiting area and identity after entering. The spa anchors the west end of the building and is primarily identified with extensive exterior / interior use of tongue and groove cypress siding and glass. Spa reception and waiting, a yoga studio, massage room, and aesthetician room make up the spa program. The east wing of the building contains the clinical spaces: 14 exam rooms, lab, 3 ultrasound rooms, ultrasound sub-waiting, 2 procedure rooms, doctors’ offices, and support. The exam rooms are delineated on the exterior as lower horizontal “bars” that plug into the larger central mass. Natural light is provided to the exam spaces through an extensive window system while privacy is maintained by utilizing a translucent film on the glass. The building interiors are bathed in the warmth of natural light with views to the landscape carefully framed throughout the facility. Details of wood bring the exterior in and dematerialize the demarcation of inside and outside.

"This building improves the human condition for those who will use this facility for their health, and the rest of us who may never step within its doors, but will regularly see it in our built environment. It reminds us to lift our aspirations whenever we can." - 2016 AIA Tennessee Awards Jury